Fue un placer visitar su pais. No imagina lo que le agradecí su visita al Hotel, por dos veces además y sus consejos apoyados en esa magnífica documentación informática que me mostró....José Miguel Samaniego
Three Peruvian archaeological sites -Machu Picchu (Cusco), Chan Chan (La Libertad) and Caral (Lima)- have been named among the top eight lost cities in the world, Peru's export and tourism promotion board Promperu has announced.more »
January 18, 1535, Francisco Pizarro founded, in what is now Plaza Mayor, the capital of the Peru. Behind it is the Alameda Chabuca Granda where you can taste traditional Creole dishes and enjoy various performances, especially on weekends. With a significant sample of colonial architecture, the historical center is also known as "Checkerboard of Pizarro ", by the distribution of its streets as a chess board. In 1998 the area was declared historic heritage by UNESCO.
It was the center of the old colonial city. Its perimeter are the Cathedral of Lima, the Goverment Palace and the Provincial Municipality of Lima.In the center stands a bronze fountain dating from the 17TH century.
In 1535, Spanish founder of Lima, Francisco Pizarro, decided to build the matrix Church of the city of the Kings for which places the first stone for the construction. In 1538 ends the first Temple of simple construction. March 11, 1540, Francisco Pizarro inaugurates the first church that is put under the protection of Glorious Assumption of Our Lady.
The importance of the city is because on May 14, 1541 Pope Paul III issued a Papal bull that elevates as Cathedral Temple of Lima, which begins to be built in 1542. Doña Francisca Pizarro Yupanqui, the daughter of the Conqueror gave the considerable sum of five thousand pesos of gold for its construction, came cost fifteen thousand until completed and own King Spain thanks in Royal Decree of 19 March 1552. Later, 1572 again begins construction on the Cathedral which lasted several years. 1593 Restarts building after a period of inactivity. 1604 Inaugurated the first advances, those who suffer severe damage during the earthquake of 1609. In 1622 ends the third Temple.
The great earthquake of 1746 again damage the structure. Its reconstruction was in three parts, the first completed in 1755, the second in 1758 and the latest in 1778. Between 1794 and 1797 existing towers are built bell tower of the Cathedral.
During the 19th century, the Cathedral did not receive proper maintenance by who in 1893 was forced to close due to its dilapidated. Three years later began its reconstruction and the Cathedral in the form keeps until today was opened in 1898. On May 28, 1921 was given recognition as a minor Basilica under the name of Cathedral Basilica St. John Apostle and Evangelist.
In recent years, under the pastoral Government of Cardinal Juan Luis Cipriani and with the support of private enterprise, was carried out numerous and meticulous restoration work on the Cathedral and its works of art, as well as an improved lighting, culminating work in 2004, fourth centenary of his consecration.
The Peru′s Government Palace, also known as Government House (designation to date documents) is located in the Plaza Mayor of Lima city on the banks of the Rímac River (exact location indicated by the Spaniards as the seat of power from 1535). Informally a part of the Peruvian press called "Casa de Pizarro".
It is the headquarters of the Peruvian Executive and the residence of the President of Peru. It includes a built area of 19,200 square meters. Some 200 people work there. The left wing of the building (which gives the shop Street) to design the Arq. Ricardo Malachowski Jaxa in 1926 was, until the second Government of architect Fernando BelaÚnde Terry, the Ministry of Justice.
Its first version was built by the Spanish conquistador Francisco Pizarro in 1536 on the Curaca Taulichusco House. In his later constructions named Viceroy Palace during the Viceroyalty of Peru, it was the residence of the viceroy during the colonial era.
The current building dates back to 1938, built under the leadership of President Oscar R. Benavides.
It is considered a historical monument and together with their very different architectural backward have hosted several guests: Francisco Pizarro with the 40 viceroys, the liberator Simon Bolivar, Spanish King Juan Carlos I, Duke of Bourbon (official visit in November, 1978), and 53 warlords and Presidents.
Architectural ensemble of the 17TH century. It includes the church, the convent and the square. The main front of the temple was carved in stone and is characterized by its columns of corinthian type. In the facade features a ledge with arches that appreciates the Immaculate Conception. The area of the cloisters decorated with tiles, houses the Museum of Virreinal Art. In addition, you can visit the catacombs (underground galleries) served as a cemetery for the colony.
Offer night tours last Thursday of each month (except December).
It was the first cemetery of the city of Lima. Opened in 1808 by Viceroy Abascal, the author of his plans was known Spanish architect Matthias Master Piest. It has more than 766 mausoleums of neoclassic style, which highlights statues and figures of Saints-inspired sculptures and the virtues.
It houses a restored fragment of the old wall encircling Lima and was built in the 17TH century to protect them from hackers and attacks of enemies of the Spanish Crown. The place is the statue of the founder of Lima, Spanish conqueror Francisco Pizarro, as well as a museum exhibiting archaeological pieces found in the area.
Colonial architectural complex of the 16th century. The Church preserves the facade of granite dating from 1687. The roof is finely decorated with plaster figures. Interior emphasizes the neoclassical altar dominated the image of the Virgin of Mercy and a carving of San Miguel Arcángel. The interior is also fray Pedro Urraca Chapel and rough wooden cross which, according to the accounts used to escape from the devil.
To be built on the foundations of a Pre-Hispanic building adobe and quincha spaces had adapted to an uneven distribution arranged at different levels. The main facade has a balcony of the Republican era. They highlight their courtyards, the first Italian 19th century marble clothed and the second adorned with an ancient source of bronze. The House has been owned by the same family since the same year of construction (1535) until our days. Today, it hosts various cultural events.
Dates from 1636. Its plant was inspired by the Jesuit parent of Rome and consists of three entrances. It is the only one in Lima with three gates of entry, exclusive characteristic of a cathedral building. He is noted for its magnificent Churrigueresque style altarpieces and the whole of the central buildings seems to be filled by paintings and tile. Among his works of art are the paintings of schools in Lima, Cusco, and Quito, a series of gilded carvings of some founders of religious orders and painting depicting the coronation of the Virgin by the painter Bernardo Bitti.
Two story building whose construction started in 1735 by the Marquis of Torre Tagle Treasurer of the Royal Spanish Navy orders. He is considered one of the best exponents of the Lima residential architecture from the 18th century. Include balconies of carved wood, his oratory of Baroque style decorated with mirrors and colonial paintings and its cover carefully carved in stone. He is currently the Ministry of Foreign Affairs Headquarters.
Church with three entrances which highlights the dome and a beautiful choir stalls carved cedar. The convent walls are decorated with Sevillian tile and the Chapterhouse appreciate Baroque carvings. The National University of San Marcos, first University founded by the Spanish Crown in America was founded in 1551 in the convent.
Architectural complex made up of the Church and the sanctuary. It was built between the 17TH and 18th centuries along with the House where was born and lived Santa Rosa de Lima, patroness of Lima, America and the Philippines. Emphasizes the chapel or oratory that she built in 1614, lemon tree planted by the Holy and a well of 19 meters deep in the said threw the key of the belt which embraced the waist as a sign of penance.
Built in the second half of the 18th century in the former grounds of the colonial District of Pachacamilla. The central part of the altar is composed of two Tuscan pilasters fluted and Golden, who hold a Baroque front. Inside, by way of voting is the image of the Lord of the Miracles, painted in oil on a rough wall of adobe.
According to tradition, the image of Christ was painted by a black slave in the 17TH century. This was the only wall that remained standing after the earthquakes in 1655, 1687-1746. Each October, a large procession with the replica of the purple Christ as it is also called, travels the streets of the city of Lima.
It is one of the largest in South America. Stroll through its streets means know the Customs and the products of this ancient culture and mainly delight with their food, the same which can be enjoyed in numerous restaurants called "chifas". Architecturally is the Monumental Capon Street Home.
The convent was founded at the end of the 16th century. He is characterised by its quiet and spacious, environments conserved valuable paintings of the Lima, Cusco and Quito Schools.
In Pre-Hispanic times it was considered an "Apu" or holy mountain which ensured the ancient inhabitants of the Valley of the Rímac River. In 1536, one of the first actions of the conquistador Francisco Pizarro was sworn of the Hill, by placing a cross on top. Every first Sunday in May is a pilgrimage to the top. From it, and with clear sky, it is possible to appreciate the city of Lima in full extent, as well as islands located off its coasts.
It was built in 1760 by order of Viceroy de Amat y Juniet. Acho is the oldest Bullring in America and the oldest third of the world.
It was completely remodeled in 1946, taking the shape maintained until today. Inside sits the bullfighting Museum containing a collection of relics such as costumes, cloaks, swords, crutches, posters and paintings of famous painters. In October, Acho is scene of the taurine fair of the Lord of the Miracles.
|Carmel Hotel in Lima|
|Ferre Miraflores Hotel in Lima|
|Faraona Grand Hotel in Lima|
|Miraflores Colon Hotel in Lima|
|Casa Andina Classic Miraflores San Antonio Hotel in Lima|
|La Hacienda Lima Hotel & Casino|
|Jose Antonio Lima Hotel|
|Antara Hotel in Lima|
|Basadre Suites Boutique Hotel in Lima|
|Casa Andina Classic Miraflores Centro Hotel in Lima|
|QP Hotel in Lima|
|Radisson Decapolis Miraflores Hotel in Lima|
|Novotel Lima Hotel|
|Foresta Hotel & Suites in Lima|
|Sonesta Posadas del Inca Miraflores Hotel in Lima|
|Costa del Sol Lima Hotel|
|Sol de Oro Lima Hotel|
|Sheraton Lima Hotel & Convention Center Hotel|
|Crowne Plaza Hotel in Lima|
|Plaza del Bosque Hotel in Lima|
|Sonesta El Olivar Hotel in Lima|
|Estelar Apartments Bellavista Hotel in Lima|
|Doubletree El Pardo by Hilton Lima Hotel|
|Estelar Miraflores Hotel in Lima|
|Thunderbird Pardo Hotel in Lima|
|Meliá Lima Hotel|
|Country Club Hotel & Spa in Lima|
|Casa Andina Private Collection Miraflores Hotel in Lima|
|JW Marriott Lima Hotel|
|Swissotel Lima Hotel|
|Sofitel Royal Park Lima Hotel|
|Miraflores Park Hotel in Lima|
|Westin Libertador Lima Hotel|