Fue un placer visitar su pais. No imagina lo que le agradecí su visita al Hotel, por dos veces además y sus consejos apoyados en esa magnífica documentación informática que me mostró....José Miguel Samaniego
Three Peruvian archaeological sites -Machu Picchu (Cusco), Chan Chan (La Libertad) and Caral (Lima)- have been named among the top eight lost cities in the world, Peru's export and tourism promotion board Promperu has announced.more »
At an angle of the square are the Church and the cloisters of the company, known as the most representative of the mixed race baroque period at the end of the 18th century.
The monastery of Santa Catalina, 20 000 m² of surface area, is a spectacular religious Citadel, the structures of the complex of San Francisco include a small square, the main church, the convent and cloisters.
The chapels and the convents of Santo Domingo date from the 16th to the 18th century; San Agustin, La Merced and the Church of Santa Martha in the 17TH century. In regards to Santa Teresa and Santa Rosa, are two illustrations of the architecture of the 18th century. The Real bridge (Puente Bolognesi day today) and the Grau bridge, both belonging to the 18th century, are also made in ashlar.
The mansions, with the monuments, streets and squares, ensure harmony and integrity with the urban landscape, and give the city an exceptional urban value.
5 Blocks from the main square of the city of Arequipa. This is the oldest Arequipa district, with narrow streets, small squares and large houses; it is the most representative of the former Arequipa area.
Its old houses are externally decorated with pots of geraniums and other flowers. It emphasizes a small bridge that connects today of Saint Lazarus Church and its square with the rest of the neighborhood.
Here the Dominican monks built a chapel which eventually became parish.
The Cathedral of Arequipa is the main shrine of the city that occupies the north side of the Plaza de Armas (Main Square). Entirely built in ashlar, it exhibits a neo-renaissance style with some gothic influence. Its façade is composed of seventy columns with Corinthian capitals, three covers and two large lateral arches. It is topped by two towers renaissance and stylized.
Inside is the high altar, made with Carrara marble and made by Felipe Maratillo. In the nave stands the incomparable carved pulpit in wood of oak by the artist Buisine Rigot, in Lille, France, and sees Christ defeating the evil serpent. In the background, there is a body of Belgian origin, whose value lies in being one of the largest in South America.
It is neoclassical and revenues to the temple are located in the aisles. It was hard hit by the earthquake of the year 2001, which seriously affected its towers.
This Cathedral was declared a minor Basilica by Pope Pius XII on the occasion of the IV centenary of the city in 1940.
It is a house built in the 18th century, which is constituted as one of the architectural monuments oldest and most important baroque in the city of Arequipa.
The House is named after an old mulberry tree that grows in its main courtyard. The House has furniture from the colonial and republican. The cover is a work of art that are carefully carved figures; This cover shows a Crown over a shield that is supported by two angels, and at the same time, the coat of arms consists of a castle, a bird, a puma and two crossed keys. Also within its facilities is a living room with "ancient" maps of the Americas in the 16th century.
Located in the San Francisco Street, was built in 1738.
The cover of this old House is rectangular, the floor of the House form a double square ring enclosing two courtyards. The first of them has a cobblestone floor and is surrounded by rooms which were the main of the House. The second courtyard presents a series of arches, aimed for family dining.
Today, this old House has become the headquarters of a Bank and is home to a Museum and an art gallery.
This construction shows the splendor of the colonial construction of Arequipa having been used as the main material of ashlar stone.
The complex includes the Franciscan church, the convent and a temple known as the third order.
This convent was founded in 1552, but their construction did but a few years later. This complex like the others, has suffered earthquakes, and the biggest changes are in the original structures. The superb church choir carved on ashlar, is the admiration of all. The sculptures are among the most beautiful works of 17TH-century Arequipa. The Temple of the third order is located in the square, and was built after the earthquake of 1784.1 In the Church include the Baroque pulpit decorated with shortened relief and the front of the altar silver. In addition, a short passage known as the Manguillo of San Francisco, which separated the Church, has been integrated to the whole of what were the first School of Learners and later the women's prison.
Its currently the headquarters of a craft Center. Within the group should visit the library, enclosure of knowledge that boasts more than 20,000 volumes, and an interesting art gallery.
Franciscan monastery in the neighborhood of Antiquilla founded in 1648, opened to the public only in 1978. It has four cloisters and eleven rooms, in addition to two rooms of pre-Columbian art, two rooms dedicated to the Amazon and a room of religious art. Also has an art gallery with paintings from the Cusco and Arequipa Schools and a valuable library that blanket more than 20,000 volumes.
Two archaeological rooms show brought pieces of all Peru the Peruvian culture since domestication of animals and plants in the Fernández room, as well as the ancient gods of the pre-Columbian Peru in his room of pre-Columbian art. The arrival of the Spaniards and the culture shock are worthily represented by samples of pictorial and religious arts with Lima School, Cusco School paintings, as well as beautiful embroidery and sculpture made in Arequipa and Huamanga respectively.
The library with its twenty thousand books teaches us that, "the Franciscan evangelization" was made with care and love necessary lead to Christ and respect knowledge of the ancient Peruvians. The exhibitions of "History of the toys in Peru", shows us that the important thing is education and play in the cultural preservation; and the "evolution of the Peruvian textile art" shows a cultural continuity rarely captured in Peruvian museums. No doubt the visit to the convent Museum La Recoleta, Arequipa guarantees a broad satisfaction to those who want to know and have a completely different vision of the history of Peru.
Currently, its eleven rooms and four cloisters are the rooms of the museums archaeological and anthropological, Natural history, and religious art; the latter with a nice collection of colonial paintings from the Cusco and Arequipa Schools.
The first congregation of doctrinaire missionaries to arrive in the city of Arequipa were the Dominicans, the first temple built by this congregation presents a facade and a central nave dates back to 1647 later in the year of 1949 was added a polygonal Tower.
Architecturally, the Church characterizes the Bell Tower, its atrium with foldout pedestal and his impeccable bow under the choir. The front of this church is characterized by a very careful of vines tilth, combined with flower of cantuta and trumpeters angels. Inside you can see pieces of imagery and canvases with sacred motifs.
Similarly, is known its side for being the oldest of Arequipa Portal. The cloister of the convent was built around 1734.
Church of the Company (Arequipa), temple built by the Jesuits in the 17TH century, one of the most outstanding examples of the so-called mixed architecture.
The company was originally erected in 1573, following the design of Gaspar Báez. But the religious structure not resisted the earthquake in 1584, and rebuilt at the end of the 17TH century.
The company was one of the first Arequipa temples, ashlar was used. Its plateresque façade of mixed race inspiration is quite sumptuous, with colorful and stylized ornamentation of tendrils, bunches of grapes, flowers, birds, angels, and indigenous masks with long feather headdresses.
The interesting thing about this play is the wide variety of decorative elements which the line as a whole moved by a kind of horror vacui (horror vacuum). Of great interest is the figure of the tiger - cat carved in the bottom of the cover; the rest of the iconography consists of a double-headed eagle, stems, leaves, bunches of grapes and other vegetal elements. The rest of the building it is worth noting the side cover and the two cloisters, also covered by a rich stone decoration.
Founded on September 10, 1579, under the patronage of Saint Catherine of Siena, as a center of complete closure, and to accommodate the daughters of families more distinguished the city with religious vocation.
It occupies an approximate area of 20 thousand square meters and its distribution is similar to the first neighborhoods of Arequipa. The charm of this citadel lies in the strength and plasticity of their volumes, and the beauty that teachers and builders managed in the architecture of these venues.
The monastery of Santa Catalinaa presents rooms very different architecturally. One of the environments has been prepared as art gallery to exhibit canvases from the Schools of Cusco, Quito and Arequipa influence. It also has other rooms or areas to visit the cloister of the goal, the pre-Columbian Museum, the cloister of San Francisco, etc.
In interiors, the domes and dome covers considerably expand the space and increase the feeling of strength of the buildings. Perceived, particularly in the area of the alleys, the intervention of builders who, lacking a proper architectural design, they were raising walls, roofs, cells, courtyards and covers of simple approach.
From the outside can be seen how the same architecture has set a strict division between the world of the convent and the outside. A wide wall of ashlar surrounds the Citadel.
The current building boasts splendid pieces of art, such as a baroque altar of carved and gilded wood, a body and three streets, which adorns the chapel.
Ashlar House from the middle of the 16th century, paintings from the Cusco School and sculptures of the Granada School of the 17TH century are preserved. It is named after Don Juan de Goyeneche y Aguerreverre, who acquired it in 1782.
The Goyeneche Palace is one of the most known and tourist of Arequipa civil constructions.
In a situation of almost demolition, the House was acquired by Juan de Goyeneche y Aguerrevere, in 1782 who restores to his family's residence.
The House has been entirely decorated respecting the colonial style. Since the acquisition and refurbishment of the Palace by the Goyeneche, the building had two floors, spacious patios, a set of columns on the façade and a portico and vestibule. The cover has a horizontal balcony that occupies the width of its front with railings of wrought iron. It has a beautiful spiral staircase built in ashlar and allowing access to the second floor, showing in addition railing balconies, doors and Windows of the colonial era and a superb source of black stone in the main courtyard. The interior consists of halls of large domes.
He is currently the headquarters of the Central Reserve Bank in Arequipa.
Its construction began in 1551 although the works of the temple were newly completed in 1607.
It has an attractive lateral cover featuring the image of the Virgen de las Mercedes accompanied by two saints.
Inside are conserved important works of art as the "appearance of the Virgin to San Pedro Nolasco", in the sacristy, and a series of paintings related to the Virgen de las Mercedes, in the Chapter House. Both the Church and the convent, the second built in the city, have been built using Arequipa ashlar.
The Faculty maintains a library dating from the colonial era.
|La Maison D Elise Hotel in Arequipa|
|Mirador de Monasterio Hotel in Arequipa|
|Casa Andina Classic Arequipa Hotel|
|El Cabildo Hotel In Arequipa|
|Sonesta Posadas Del Inca Arequipa Hotel|
|Libertador Arequipa Hotel|
|Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa Hotel|